DALLAS — The crowded field of Dallas mayoral candidates has grown to 10.

State Rep. Eric Johnson (D-Dallas) announced Tuesday that he was joining the race ahead of the May 4 election. 

Johnson – who represents Texas House District 100, including parts of southern and eastern Dallas and was first elected in 2010 – joins the long list of candidates vying to replace outgoing Mayor Mike Rawlings: real estate developer Mike Ablon, philanthropist Lynn McBee, businessman Albert Black, councilman Scott Griggs, Socialist Workers Party candidate Alyson Kennedy, lawyer and former Clinton administration aide Regina Montoya, Dallas ISD trustee Miguel Solis, former State Rep. Jason Villalba and Miguel Patino.

Former city attorney Larry Casto dropped out of the race last week and endorsed Ablon.

Johnson on Tuesday also announced that he was appointing former Cowboys cornerback Mel Renfro, a Pro Football Hall of Famer, as his campaign's treasurer. 

“Dallas is a great city, but we have some serious challenges ahead of us," Johnson said in a statement. "We need to make sure that the Dallas of tomorrow is full of opportunity for everyone. It’s time to move beyond the old divisions at City Hall and work together toward real solutions."