Breaking News
More () »

Results: MJ Hegar, Chrysta Castañeda, Lulu Seikaly, Candace Valenzuela win Democratic runoff elections

State officials announced a single-day record of new confirmed coronavirus cases on Tuesday as Texans across the state went out to the polls.

Updated after results were released Tuesday. The above video is from June 29, 2020.

MJ Hegar will run against Sen. John Cornyn in November after defeating State Sen. Royce West in a primary runoff election Tuesday night.

Hegar claimed the victory after 11 p.m. West will make a statement Wednesday morning.

As of 11:54 p.m., Hegar claimed 52 percent of the vote to West's 48 percent, with 80 percent of precincts reporting.

RELATED: MJ Hegar to face Sen. John Cornyn in November

Polls closed at 7 p.m. in the Texas primary runoff elections amid a single-day record of nearly 10,800 confirmed new cases of the coronavirus. State health officials Tuesday also reported 87 new deaths. 

Fears over the coronavirus kept some poll workers home, forcing San Antonio to open fewer polling places than originally planned. 

RELATED: Latest election results

The election determines which candidates from the Democratic and Republican parties will move on to the general election in November. The races include the U.S. Senate, the U.S. House of Representatives, the Texas Legislature, the Railroad Commission, judicial seats and other local positions.

All U.S. and Texas House districts will have an election come November, as well as one U.S. Senate office – incumbent John Cornyn’s seat – and several Texas Senate seats.

Democratic race for U.S. Senate

Mary "MJ" Hegar will face off against Texas Sen. Royce West for the U.S. Senate race. The winner will run against the current senator -- Republican Cornyn -- in November. 

Hegar is a former Air Force combat veteran who served three tours in Afghanistan and was awarded a Purple Heart. West has represented much of Dallas County in the Texas Senate since 1992. He also represents Texas on the Democratic National Committee and is a managing parter of the law firm West & Associates.

RELATED: Meet Mary 'MJ' Hegar, a candidate for US Senate race

RELATED: Meet Royce West, a candidate for US Senate race

Democratic race for Texas Railroad Commissioner

Roberto "Beto" Alonzo and Chrysta Castañeda are competing for the chance to represent the party in the Texas Railroad Commissioner race. Whoever wins will run against Republican Jim Wright in November. 

The Texas Railroad Commission regulates the oil, gas and mining industries in the state, but has not actually regulated railroads in Texas since 2005.

RELATED: More on Alonzo's candidacy

RELATED: More on Castañeda's candidacy

U.S. House District 3

Lulu Seikaly and Sean McCaffity are both looking to represent the party on the ballot in November for U.S. House District 3. The winner will challenge the current incumbent, Republican Rep. Van Taylor.

U.S. House District 24

Kim Olson and Candace Valenzuela will face off with each other to be the Democratic candidate for U.S. House District 24. Whoever wins will race against Republican Beth Van Duyne in November. The winner will replace incumbent Kenny Marchant.

At 10:36 p.m., Valenzuela declared victory with 60 percent of the vote and 59 percent of precincts reporting. 

WFAA had live coverage through election night. You can rewatch it here: 

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out