DALLAS Deion Sanders arrived at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Dallas after receiving the news about his induction in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton.

At the time he was coaching a youth football game. It's unbelievable, Sanders said on the NFL Network. It's hard to describe the feeling. I'm one who never put an emphasis of what someone thought about me. To be held to a high regard and standard by your peers, and different sports writers around the count, I'm honored. I really am.

Sanders was one of two players who was voted in during his first year of eligibility. Running back Marshall Faulk was the second.

We had a pretty good 90s, said Michael Irvin, who was inducted with the Class of 2007. Some would say a very good 90s. It is a blessing to see some of the fruit from that hard labor.

When you talk about shutdown corners, when you talk about somebody who can play man to man all over the field, I mean he's the kind of guy that would play man to man and take you all the way to the bathroom, said Ronnie Lott, a member of the Class of 2000.

Sanders was a cornerback, a kick and punt return specialist and a wide receiver. To this day, he remains the only man to have won both a Super Bowl ring and a World Series ring. Now the fun is just beginning.

In terms of getting your bust and make sure that you have it the way you want it, you have to spend time with the guys, said Emmitt Smith, who was inducted with the Class of 2010. He has to figure out if he wants to go in with a bald head or go in with a curl. But either way, he's going in.

Wide receiver Tim Brown failed to make the cut. Former Cowboys defensive end Charles Haley failed to make it as well, despite being the only player with five Super Bowl rings.

It's a sad day for me and it's sad day, because I know what kind of warrior he truly is, Lott said.

Sanders left the news conference the same way he came in on the run. His only comments about his induction were heard on the NFL Network.

Sanders brings to 11 the number of Cowboys players who are now in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Haley was a second year finalist and will remain eligible for the next 17 years.


Read or Share this story: