Jason Witten is known for his humanitarian efforts around the DFW area, being usually one of the first Cowboys to show up for a chariable cause. On Monday, he was recognized for his efforts.

Press Release from the Cowboys

Riverwoods, IL Aug. 16, 2010 Pro Football Weekly announces in this week s paper that Dallas Cowboys TE Jason Witten is the recipient of the 12th annual Arthur S. Arkush Humanitarian Award, presented to a NFL player whose contributions to the community and charitable organizations are especially outstanding.

The SCORE Foundation, launched by Witten and his wife, Michelle, has produced several programs and events that are very popular in the communities it serves.

The SCOREkeepers program is a unique initiative placing full-time, trained male mentors in battered women s shelters throughout Texas. The mentors seek to demonstrate positive male behavior to the children living in these shelters in an effort to break the cycle of violence that plagues families affected by abuse.

The foundation also recently started the Coaching Boys into Men program. Coaches of male athletes from four Arlington, Texas high schools were brought in and taught how to coach their players the right way. In addition, the coaches learn how to interact with their student athletes about the rights and wrongs of dating and interacting with women.

Witten was one of five finalists for this year s Humanitarian Award. The other finalists were London Fletcher of the Redskins, Domonique Foxworth of the Ravens, Israel Idonije of the Bears and Josh Wilson of the Seahawks.

Other nominees included: Nnamdi Asomugha, Raiders; Josh Brown, Rams; Thomas Davis, Panthers; Vernon Davis, 49ers; Cortland Finnegan, Titans; Brian Finneran, Falcons; Daniel Graham, Broncos; E.J. Henderson, Vikings; Quentin Jammer, Chargers; Matt Leinart, Cardinals; Jake Long, Dolphins; Shaun O Hara, Giants; Tony Richardson, Jets; Clifton Smith, Buccaneers; Drew Stanton, Lions; Max Starks, Steelers; Zach Strief, Saints; Joe Thomas, Browns; Ernest Wilford, Jaguars; Vince Wilfork, Patriots; George Wilson, Bills; Charles Woodson, Packers.

The award is named in honor of Arthur S. Arkush, the founder of Pro Football Weekly.

Read or Share this story: