If you ride DART on your daily commute, big changes are coming Thursday at the outermost light rail stations.

Wednesday was the final day for the transit agency's 'Fair Share' paid parking experiment at the Parker Road, Northwest Plano, North Carrollton-Frankford and Belt Line stations.

That means everyone parks free starting Thursday.

But there is a perk for commuters who live in one of DART's 13 member cities Addison, Carrollton, Cockrell Hill, Dallas, Farmers Branch, Garland, Glenn Heights, Highland Park, Irving, Plano, Richardson, Rowlett and University Park 828 premium spots at the Parker Road station are reserved for you.

You do need a permit, though, to prove that you reside in one of those cities. The Platinum Parking permits from the paid parking program will suffice. A DART representative will be at the station to provide reserved parking permits; a valid proof of residency and vehicle ownership verification are required.

For the past two years, residents of non-member cities were charged $2 daily or $40 monthly to park at the stations involved in the program. Many commuters simply decided to drive to the next station down the line for free parking.

Read or Share this story: