It's been almost 30 years in the making, but come October, Southwest Airlines will be able to fly non-stop anywhere in the country.

That's when the Wright Amendment expires.

Monday, Southwest announced 15new non-stop destinations from Dallas Love Field. Those cities include Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Denver, Fort Lauderdale, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Nashville, New York, Orange County, Orlando, Phoenix, San Diego, Tampa, and Washington D.C.

Will this have a major impact on the airline industry?Travel expert Rick Seaney with Fare Compare joined Jason Wheeler on News 8 at 4 p.m. to talk about what it all means.

Read or Share this story: