DALLAS (AP) Republican incumbents Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst and Attorney General Greg Abbott easily defeated their Democratic challengers to each capture third terms in office.

Dewhurst beat Linda Chavez-Thompson and Abbott defeated Barbara Ann Radnofsky on Tuesday in an election that reinforced Republican dominance in Texas.

Chavez-Thompson is a labor leader and vice chairwoman of the Democratic National Committee. Radnofsky is a Houston attorney who ran unsuccessfully for Kay Bailey Hutchison's U.S. Senate seat in 2006.

In the race for state land commissioner, Republican incumbent Jerry Patterson defeated former Democratic state Sen. Hector Uribe. Patterson also won his third term in the office, which manages 13 million acres and the state's coastal areas.

Read or Share this story: