Olympics Feb 14: Pairs skating concludes, new-look men's hockey team debuts

Don't miss these events for day 5 of the Olympics

Yesterday in PyeongChang, we saw Shaun White take home this third gold medal in men's snowboarding halfpipe. It was the U.S.'s 100th in Winter Olympics history. 

Women's slalom was delayed due to high winds so we won't see Mikaela Shiffrin defend her gold medal in slalom until Friday, but she's scheduled to make her PyeongChang debut in primetime tonight. 

Here are Wednesday's can't-miss events:

Figure skating pairs event concludes

8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT | Watch on NBC

Married figure skating couple Alexa Scimeca Knierim and Chris Knierim are finishing up their pairs skating competition. After scoring 65.55 points in the short program last night and placing in 14th place, they are unlikely to medal.

Mikaela Shiffrin's PyeongChang debut

8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT | Watch on NBC

After a multitude of weather delays, American skier Mikaela Shiffrin will make her 2018 Olympic debut competing in the giant slalom. Shiffrin is the defending gold medalist in women's slalom, a title she will defend tomorrow, assuming the weather plays along. 

US Women's hockey team faces rival Canada 

10:10pm ET / 7:10pm PT | Watch on NBCSN

Get ready for a rivalry showdown, Olympic style. The US women's hockey team will be facing Canada in a group A prelim. Both teams have already qualified for the semifinals and many believe this match could set the tone for a potential gold medal game rematch. 

New-look men's hockey team makes its Olympic debut against Slovenia

7:10am ET / 4:10am PT | Watch online at nbcolympics.com

This year is the first time since 1998 that the NHL is not allowing any players under its contract to participate in the Olympics. The new-look team will play Slovenia this morning.

Luge doubles begins

3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT | Watch on NBC

Germany's "Two Tobis," Tobias Arlt and Tobias Wendl, will race to defend their gold medal in doubles luge. Team USA has two pairs in the doubles luge event: Matt Mortensen and Jayson Terdiman along with Justin Krewson and Andrew Sherk.

Men's skeleton begins

8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT | Watch on NBC

Matt Antoine and John Daly are representing Team USA in the men's skeleton event. Antoine and Daly were both in contention for the bronze medal in Sochi, with Antoine ultimately winning. The skeleton event includes four runs spread out between two days. The four times are added together, and the fastest total time determines the winner.

Women's 1000m speed skating

8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT | Watch on NBC

The Dutch so far have dominated speed skating and will try to maintain their sweep of gold medals with the women's 1,000m final. Heather Bergsma is the reigning world champion in the 1,000m and will be Team USA's best chance at breaking their streak. Brittany Bowe and Jerica Tandiman will also represent the U.S. in the race. 

© 2018 TEGNA MEDIA


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment