Djokovic beats Federer for men's title at Wimbledon

Novak Djokovic defeated Roger Federer 6-7, 6-4, 7-6, 5-7, 6-4 Sunday to win the Wimbledon men's title.

Djokovic was serving for the match at 5-3 in the fourth set but Federer broke him twice and won the set forcing the match to go the distance.

In the final set, Federer, who served well all day, had trouble in the final game going down 0-30 and then 15-40. A backhand into the net ended the match.

Djokovic is now 6-1 in five-set matches at Wimbledon and Federer is 6-4

Prior to the match Djokovic had won a single Wimbledon title in 2011.

Federer was a seven-time winner with the last one coming in 2012.

Only Pete Sampras and Federer have won seven men's titles at Wimbledon.

Defending champion Andy Murray was knocked out in the quarterfinals this year.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment