Sports Blog

Find posts by keyword
Find posts by date


UIL announces all-century defensive team

by Web Producer

Posted on December 8, 2009 at 11:37 AM

This press release just came from the UIL:

AUSTIN, TX— The University Interscholastic League, as part of its Centennial Celebration, has announced the UIL All-Century Defensive Football Team as selected by the fans. Fans cast more than 17,000 votes for their favorite football players in Texas high school history.
For the past 100 years, UIL athletes have given fans some of the most memorable and exciting moments in sports. The UIL would like to recognize these outstanding performers as it celebrates a century of excellence.
The UIL All-Century Defensive Football Team as selected by the fans include:
(In alphabetical order by position)

DL            Ray Childress, Richardson Pearce
DL            Joe Greene, Temple Dunbar
DL            Bob Lilly, Throckmorton
DL            Bubba Smith, Beaumont Pollard
LB            Jessie Armstead, Dallas Carter
LB            Tommy Nobis, San Antonio Jefferson
LB            Mike Singletary, Houston Worthing
DB            Dave Elmendorf, Houston Westbury
DB            Jerry Gray, Lubbock Estacado
DB            Darrell Green, Houston Jones
DB            Bobby Taylor, Longview
P            Sammy Baugh, Sweetwater
DL            Sam Adams, Houston Cypress Creek
DL            Tony Brackens, Fairfield
DL            Michael Carter, Dallas Jefferson
DL            Michael Strahan, Houston Westbury
LB            Brian Bosworth, Irving MacArthur
LB            Derrick Johnson, Waco
LB            Jack Pardee, Christoval
DB            Ken Houston, Lufkin Dunbar
DB            James Lott, Refugio
DB            Kevin Smith, West Orange-Stark
DB            Pat Thomas, Plano
P            Shane Lechler, East Bernard

DL            Santana Dotson, Houston Yates
DL            Doug English, Dallas Adams
DL            Tommie Harris, Killeen Ellison
DL            Billy Ray Smith, Plano
LB            Britt Hager, Odessa Permian
LB            Bill Hobbs, Amarillo
LB            Jim Yarbrough, Galveston Ball
DB            Joe Bob Bizzell, Odessa Permian
DB            Willie Mack Garza, Refugio
DB            Johnnie Johnson, La Grange
DB            Kyle Rote Jr., Highland Park
P            Justin Brantley, Sealy
The results for the UIL All-Century Offensive Football Team will be released Wednesday, December 9, 2009.