List: Denton County cities currently opting in, out for aerial spraying

Aerial spraying

Credit: WFAA

Four planes lifted off from Dallas Executive Airport on Sunday for the third night of aerial spraying to kill mosquitoes infected with West Nile virus.


Posted on August 27, 2012 at 4:04 PM

Updated Monday, Aug 27 at 8:01 PM

 DENTON – At 3 p.m. Tuesday, Denton County Judge Mary Horn and Health Director Bing Burnham will announce a final list of towns and municipalities that will participate in aerial spraying for mosquitoes. 

As it stands, 15 cities and one water district have voted in favor of the service. Nine have decided to opt out –– although a handful of these were sprayed by Dallas County because portions of the city are located there. 

We’ll have more tomorrow on statistics, jurisdictions and specifics about dates and times for spraying, but here’s the preliminary list where, at some point this week, the aerial dousing will occur. 

Cities not listed have not officially announced whether they'll participate. 

Opting in: 


  • Corral City
  • Town of Crossroads
  • Town of Dish
  • Town of Double Oak
  • Town of Flower Mound
  • Hackberry
  • Krum
  • Lake Dallas
  • Lakewood Village
  • Lincoln Park
  • Town of Northlake
  • Pilot Point
  • Ponder
  • Sanger
  • Southlake
  • Town of Trophy Club
  • Denton County Fresh Water Supply 1-A

Opting out: 


  • Carrollton
  • Coppell
  • Dallas
  • Denton
  • Haslet
  • Hebron
  • Plano
  • Providence Village
  • The Colony