Denton County announces cities that opt in for aerial spraying

Aerial spraying

Credit: WFAA

Denton County is expected to begin aerial spraying next week in communities that ask for it.




Posted on August 28, 2012 at 5:41 PM

Updated Tuesday, Aug 28 at 11:22 PM

DENTON – While its county seat opted out of aerial spraying for West Nile, 26 other Denton County cities signed up for the service, Denton County Judge Mary Horn announced Tuesday. 

Aerial spraying will be performed by Clarke, the same company Dallas County used earlier in the month. Horn says it will happen Thursday night, although county officials haven't determined a time. Typically, aerial spraying starts around 9 p.m. or 10 p.m. and ends by 2 a.m. 

As always, spraying is contingent upon the weather playing along. If it rains, spraying will likely be postponed. 

Here's the list of cities and towns that have opted in or out of aerial spraying, as provided by Denton County. Keep in mind that  Carrollton, Coppell and Dallas have already been sprayed, as portions of those cities are also part of Dallas County.



  • Aubrey
  • Town of Copper Canyon
  • Corral City
  • Town of Crossroads
  •  Town of Dish
  • Town of Double Oak
  • Town of Flower Mound
  • Hackberry
  • Hickory Creek
  • Highland Village
  • Justin
  • Krugerville
  • Krum
  • Lake Dallas
  • Lakewood Village
  • Lewisville
  • Lincoln Park
  • Town of Northlake
  • Oak Point
  • Pilot Point
  • Ponder
  • Providence Village
  • Sanger
  • Shady Shores
  • Southlake
  • Town of Trophy Club
  • Town of Westlake



  • Bartonville
  • Carrollton
  • Coppell
  • Dallas
  • Denton
  • Fort Worth
  • Frisco
  • Haslet
  • Hebron
  • Plano
  • The Colony