Southwest Airlines announces 15 new nonstop destinations from Dallas



Posted on February 3, 2014 at 10:29 AM

Updated Monday, Feb 3 at 8:58 PM

DALLAS — Southwest Airlines announced 15 new nonstop destinations from Dallas.

"Goodbye Wright Amendment, Hello America!" the airline wrote on their Twitter account as they made the announcement Monday morning.

The airline revealed they will have new nonstop flights between Love Field and:

  • Atlanta
  • Baltimore/Washington
  • Chicago Midway
  • Denver
  • Fort Lauderdale
  • Las Vegas
  • Los Angeles
  • Nashville
  • New York LaGuardia
  • Orange County
  • Orlando
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • Tampa
  • Washington D.C.

"Today, the Wright Amendment restricts us to flying nonstop to only nine states, including Texas, from Dallas Love Field," read a statement from the airline. "We currently offer nonstop service to eight of those nine states."

The Wright Amendment, which went into effect in 1979, will expire on Oct. 13. On that date, the airline will start their nonstop flights in Baltimore/Washington, Orlando, Las Vegas, Chicago (Chicago Midway International Airport) and Denver.

On Nov. 2, nonstop flights will be available to New York (LaGuardia Airport), Washington D.C. (Reagan National Airport ), Nashville, Atlanta, Tampa, Phoenix, Los Angeles (Los Angeles International Airport ), Orange County and Ft. Lauderdale.

Southwest announced new international routes last week, but Love Field is not yet a part of that equation.

"You can't fly from Dallas Love Field internationally, so you'll still have to connect," said Rick Seaney, CEO of "Houston will be the obvious point when they get their new terminal built, and that's going to be something that's really good, even for North Texans."

Southwest will launch routes to Aruba, Jamaica and the Bahamas starting in July.