So, what's that new patch Jason Witten is sporting on his jersey Sunday in New Jersey?

It's the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award patch, and any player who has won the award will wear the patch for the rest of their career -- a tradition that started this week. The patch depicts the trophy given to the annual winner. Witten won the award in 2012.

The award "recognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field," according to Each team nominates one player each year. Travis Frederick is the Cowboys' nominee in 2017.

Two of the five active players who have won the award were playing at MetLife Stadium Sunday afternoon. Giants quarterback Eli Manning won the award in 2016.

Other active players who have been given the honor are Saints QB Drew Brees (2006), Panthers linebacker Thomas Davis (2014), and Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (2015).

For a full list of winners, go here. To see this year's nominees, go here.