Three days after departing for Rome from his position with the Catholic Diocese of Dallas, Archbishop Kevin Farrell has been designated for one of the most prestigious titles next to the papacy -- cardinal.

Farrell, who served as the Bishop of the Diocese of Dallas from 2007 until Oct. 6 of this year, will be one of 17 new cardinals appointed by Pope Francis.

The new cardinals will be created in the next consistory on Nov. 19.

“I am humbled by the news this morning that our Holy Father Pope Francis has named me to the College of Cardinals,” Farrell said from Rome, according to a release from the Diocese of Dallas. “I ask all in the Diocese of Dallas to please pray for me that I may to the best of my ability fulfill this sacred duty to our Church.”

Archbishop Farrell was already the highest-ranking American at the Vatican. This summer, the Pope chose him as the prefect for a new dicastery for laity, family and life, a merger of two preexisting dicasteries.

Below is a list of all 17 newly-appointed cardinals, according to Vatican Radio:

  • Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy
  • Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Central African Republic
  • Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra, Spain
  • Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha, Brazil
  • Archbishop Blase J. Cupich, U.S.A.
  • Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario, Bangladesh
  • Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo, Venezuela
  • Archbishop Jozef De Kesel, Belgium
  • Archbishop Maurice Piat, Mauritius
  • Archbishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, U.S.A.
  • Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes, Mexico
  • Archbishop John Ribat, Papua Nuova Guinea
  • Archbishop Mons. Joseph William Tobin U.S.A.
  • Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
  • Archbishop Renato Corti, Archbishop Emeritus of Novara Italy
  • Archbishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek Lesotho
  • Father Ernest Simoni, presbytery of the Archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Scutari – Albania.